First Home Owners Grant

First Home Owner Grant
New Zealanders residing in Australia can access the First Home Owners Grant, subject to meeting the other eligibility criteria. (Photo: FHOG website)
Date last modified: 17 August 2018

The First Home Owner Grant (FHOG) is a one-off grant payable to first home owners. It is a national scheme funded and administered by the states and territories.

Australian citizens, permanent visa-holders and New Zealand Special Category Visa-holders residing in Australia are eligible for the FHOG, subject to meeting the other criteria.

Use the Department of Home Affair’s VEVO system to verify your residency status.

To see if you are eligible, or to obtain more information about the First Home Owner Grant, please select the state or territory in which you intend to purchase your home:

ACT   NSW   NT   QLD   SA   TAS   VIC   WA


Foreign buyer additional stamp duty
Stamp Duty calculator
Capital Gains Tax exemption


Oz Kiwi is run by volunteers and entirely funded by public donations. Please consider donating to help Oz Kiwi lobby on behalf of New Zealanders living in Australia.

Thank you for your support.

Comments are closed.