Jacinda Ardern announces new ministerial portfolios

The Prime Minister-elect has released details of who gets what in the Labour-led government. (Photo: 1 News)

Laura Walters

New Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern has announced her team for Cabinet.

As well as being PM, Ardern will take on the portfolios of arts, culture and heritage, and national security and intelligence.

She will also be responsible for child poverty reduction.

Winston Peters has been confirmed as Deputy Prime Minister.

He will also hold the ministerial portfolios of Foreign Affairs, State Owned Enterprises, and Racing.

Kelvin Davis (Labour’s deputy leader) will be Minister for Crown/Māori Relations, corrections, tourism, and will be Associate Minister of Education, responsible for Māori Education.

As expected, Grant Robertson will be Finance Minister, as well as the minister in charge of sport and recreation, and Associate Minister for Arts, Culture and Heritage.

The full list

Inside Cabinet

Jacinda Ardern: PM, Arts Culture and Heritage, National Security and Intelligence, Child Poverty Reduction

Winston Peters: Deputy PM, Foreign Affairs, State Owned Enterprises, Racing

NZ Prime Minister elect Jacinda Ardern announces her cabinet positions at Parliament today. (Photo: Robert Kitchen)

Kelvin Davis: Crown/Maori relations, Corrections, Tourism, associate education (Maori education)

Grant Robertson: Finance, Sport and Recreation, Associate Arts and Culture

Phil Twyford: Housing and Urban Development, Transport

Megan Woods: Energy and Resources, Earthquake Commission, Greater Christchurch Regeneration, Research Science and Innovation

Chris Hipkins: Education, State Services, Ministerial Services, leader of the house

Andrew Little: Justice, Courts, GCSB/NZSIS, Pike River re-entry, Treaty negotiations

Carmel Sepuloni: Social Development, Disability Issues, Associate Arts and Culture and Heritage, Associate Pacific Peoples

David Clark: Health, Associate Finance

David Parker: Attorney-General, Economic Development,  Environment, Trade and Export Growth, Associate Finance

Nanaia Mahuta: Maori Development, Local Government, Associate Environment

Stuart Nash: Police, Fisheries, Revenue, Small Business

Iain Lees-Galloway: Workplace Relations and Safety, Immigration, ACC, Deputy leader of the House

Ron Mark (NZF): Defence, Veterans

Tracey Martin (NZF): Internal Affairs, Children, Seniors, Associate Education

Shane Jones (NZF): Forestry, Infrastructure, Regional Economic Development, Associate Finance, Associate Transport

Jenny Salesa: Building and Construction, Ethnic Communities, Associate Education, Associate Health, Associate Housing and Urban Development

Damien O’Connor: Agriculture, Biosecurity, Food Safety, Rural Communities, Associate Trade and Export Growth

Clare Curran: Broadcasting, Communications, and Digital Media, Government Digital Services, Associate ACC, Associate State Services (Open Government)

Support Party Ministers

James Shaw (Green Party): Minister for Climate Change, Minister of Statistics, Associate Minister of Finance

Julie Anne Genter (Green Party): Minister for Women, Associate Minister of Health, Associate Minister of Transport

Eugenie Sage (Green Party): Minister of Conservation, Minister of Land Information, Associate Minister for the Environment

Ministers Outside Cabinet

Kris Faafoi: Minister of Civil Defence, Minister of Commerce and Consumer Affairs, Associate Minister of Immigration

Peeni Henare: Minister for the Community and Voluntary Sector, Minister for Whānau Ora, Minister for Youth, Associate Minister for Social Development

Willie Jackson: Minister of Employment, Associate Minister for Māori Development

Aupito William Sio: Minister for Pacific Peoples, Associate Minister for Courts, Associate Minister of Justice

Meka Whaitiri: Minister of Customs, Associate Minister of Agriculture, Associate Minister of Crown/Māori Relations, Associate Minister of Local Government

Parliamentary Under-Secretaries

Michael Wood: Parliamentary Under-Secretary to the Minister for Ethnic Communities

Fletcher Tabuteau: Parliamentary Under-Secretary to the Minister of Foreign Affairs, Minister for Regional Economic Development

Jan Logie: Parliamentary Under-Secretary to the Minister of Justice (Domestic and Sexual Violence Issues)

[Read the Stuff article].

Comments are closed.